2013 FIM World Motocross – Round 1 – Qatar – Qualifying

March 1st, 2013 by admin Leave a reply »

Losail International Circuit. The 2013 FIM World Motocross Championships have begun. And history is being made in the world of motocross.

Three firsts here in Qatar: 1. The first ever MX GP run under the lights at night time. 2. The first ever MX GP run in the Middle East. 3. Tomorrow’s Grand Prix will have the first ever ‘SuperFinal’, where both the top riders in MX1 and MX2 will race together in the final race, a la Motocross of Nations.

Today, more specifically tonight, was practice and the Qualifying races. In MX2, earlier in the week defending World Champion Jeffrey Herlings had a fall, and injured his leg and knee. He was hoping to at least be able to ride and score some points.

However, in practice, Jeffrey laid down the quickest lap! But in the 20 minute plus 1 lap Qualifying race, Jeffrey had a crash on the first lap, and had to come thru the pack. The race results are below – but the actual Grand Prix is tomorrow night.

The winner of the MX2 Qualifying Race, number 737, Valentin Teillet, from France, riding for Rockstar Bud Racing Kawasaki. Jeffrey Herlings finished eighth. Livia Lancelot, giving it a go against the boys, did not have a quick enough lap time to make it down to the final 31 riders entered into Qualifying.

  • Click on the thumbnails to view the larger images

Having a race in Qatar is quite an experience. For a taste on that, there are currently two additional articles to look at:

1. What the teams & riders have to say about the start of a new season, new rules, and racing in Qatar

2. More on Qatar, the World MX Championships, and the future of the sport

In MX1, how can anyone bet against defending World Motocross Champion Tony Cairoli? He’s got everything going in his favor as he has in year’s past – great team, great bike, and Tony himself is fast, smart, and in great physical condition.

TC222 set down the quickest lap in the MX1 practice. In the MX1 Qualifying Race – he dominated once again. (Results below.)

MX2 Qualifying Race:

  1. Valentin Teillet – KAW
  2. Glenn Coldenhoff – KTM
  3. Jose Butron – KTM
  4. Max Anstie – SUZ
  5. Jordi Tixier – KTM
  6. Dean Ferris – YAM
  7. Jake Nicholls – KTM
  8. Jeffrey Herlings – KTM
  9. Julien Lieber – SUZ
  10. Al Lupino – KAW
  11. Arnaud Tonus – KAW
  12. Chris Charlier – YAM
  13. Harri Kullas – HON
  14. Al Tonkov – HON
  15. Petar Petrov – YAM

MX1 Qualifying Race:

  1. Tony Cairoli – KTM
  2. Clement Desalle – SUZ
  3. Evgeny Bobryshev – HON
  4. Ken de Dycker – KTM
  5. Steven Frossard – YAM
  6. Max Nagl – HON
  7. Tommy Searle – KAW
  8. Kevin Strijbos – SUZ
  9. Davide Guarneri – KTM
  10. Gautier Paulin – KAW
  11. Shaun Simpson – TM
  12. David Philippaerts – HON
  13. Rui Goncalves – KTM
  14. Jeremy van Horebeek – KAW
  15. Tanel Leok – HON

World Champion Tony Cairoli gets ready to race the first ever

World Motocross Champion Tony Cairoli gets ready to race at the first ever MX GP of Qatar



Be Sociable, Share!